Weather Psalm

It’s early Tuesday morning and I’m sitting in a quiet room watching turbulent clouds wheel in the sky outside my window.  How odd to have the second day of school off!  This gives me an opportunity to flesh out my upcoming lesson plans.

I searched out a good “weather Psalm” during my morning prayers to reflect the rain outside.  I love this stanza from Psalm 103.  This is a translation of the Hebrew from Paulist Press:

You stretch out the heavens like a tent

Above the rains you build your dwelling.

You make the clouds your chariot,

you walk on the wings of the wind,

you make the winds your messengers,

and flashing fire your servants.

I don’t mind the wind and the rain, but hopefully we won’t experience any flashing fire today!  In the meantime, I’ve been graced with a day to prep for tomorrow…

2 thoughts on “Weather Psalm

  1. Hey there,

    I saw you posting over at the ‘Drobe and figured I stop by. The weather can be brutal, can’t it? I’m always nervous for my Floridian relatives during hurricane season…wishing you all the best!

    ~Rose

  2. We’re all praying for the New Orleans folks with Gustav at this point, which looks like it will dump some rain on Florida, but mostly Texas and Louisiana. Good to be on the Wardrobe forum! It was getting a little lonely online with justme and my blog, and I don’t do myspace…

Leave a Reply

