Brother Phillip

Checking out Weston Priory’s site this evening, I came across this sad news:

Wednesday, December 24, 2008

Our brother Philip died peacefully early this morning, surrounded by the brothers of the community.

All are welcome to be with us in prayer today as we give thanks for the gift of his life.

The brothers will bring his body to the Stone Chapel at 1:30 pm for a period of vigil.

We will then celebrate a Eucharist in thanksgiving for his life of faithful commitment at 5:30 pm in the Stone chapel.

On Saturday, January 3, 2009, at 11:30 am, we invite all to gather with us in his memory and to celebrate together in Eucharist the gift of his life.

The schedule of prayer for Christmas and New Years will remain as planned.

I did not really interact with Brother Phillip that much when I spent a week at the monastery in June of 2006.  But from what I remember, he was quiet, gracious, kind, and had that wonderful quality that all the brothers at Weston have: a radiant desire to know who I was, and offer the love of his community.  Please pray for the Weston Priory community as they suffer the loss of one of their own, and celebrate his return Home.

3 thoughts on “Brother Phillip

  1. Greg,
    Like you, I did not spend a lot of time with Brother Phillip. I remember him welcoming us and helping to create that space of Peace that we found so nurturing and warm.

    I join you in this time of quite reflection and we send Love and thoughts of Strength to that Peaceful Community we were able to share.



  2. Br. Philip gave me so much advice on dealing with my own disability long before he became ill.
    At the end of his life I was able to visit him. Although he was unable to speak, we still communicated.
    All I can say is that he pulled me out of a lot messes when it came to vocations. He was wiser than wise. Kind, generous, prayerful and just a beautiful soul.
    I don’t think a day goes by when I am not thinking of him.

Leave a Reply

