Apologizing for My Catholicism (or sometimes lack thereof) by Amanda Farah

Things have been quiet in the Forest.  I’m wondering if it has something to do with what this wonderful author, Amanda Farah, reflects on in the following piece.  Perhaps I’m having a bit of a Zechariah moment; I’ve been given the story, but still refuse to believe or validate it, or trust it, or embrace it, or talk about it, or join it, or high-five it, or have a pint with it, or enjoy it.  The result: silence.  And not the quiet within the peace of God.  But an empty quiet…tip of the tongue, struggle to say it, not wanting to say it, so silence.

One of the blessings of having a baby boy soon is the thought that one day he will ask me a question about faith and belief.  He will ask me my story, our story.  And if not before then, I know the silence will have to stop.

Check out Amanda’s article:

Busted Halo » Features » Apologizing for My Catholicism (or sometimes lack thereof).

One thought on “Apologizing for My Catholicism (or sometimes lack thereof) by Amanda Farah

  1. That was a really cool article, though a little bit short. I definitely know the feeling of being among the hip, urban crowd that’s too cool to be Christian.

Leave a Reply

